top of page
  • Hannah Xie

My College Freshman Experience Made a 180


My College Freshman Experience Made a 180


Coming to Florida State University during the pandemic was definitely a nerve-racking experience. Like everyone else, I left my close friends and family and moved from one side of the state to the other, which oddly seems like completely different geographical areas. As someone who has never spent more than four days away from family, college was definitely a big change for me. It was a change I was excited to experience; but with the world the way it was and currently is, the excitement levels definitely took a turn.


My first semester was awful, if I’m being honest. I made no friends because I am living in an apartment and my roommate and I ended up not getting along so great. It felt like such a lonely time. I saw my best friends from high school on social media having a great time, making friends, joining sororities at their universities, and I just wished I didn’t feel so alone. Looking back now I am kind of grateful for the alone time I spent first semester even though, while I was going through it, I felt kind of depressed. However, it helped me learn to be independent which is going to be useful in the future when we are not always surrounded by people.


After going back home for winter break and it was time to return back to school, I waited until the last possible day to come back up to Tallahassee. I waited as long as possible to return because I just did not want to experience loneliness again. Luckily, things have taken a turn this semester so far. We’re just six weeks in and I already feel so much happier compared to when I was here last semester.


I did something I had no intention of doing– rushing a Panhellenic sorority. As someone who felt like I would never fit the proper stereotype of a “sorority girl,” I said “screw it” and went out of my shell to rush. Now, I am so glad I did it because I love my sorority and it has only been a few weeks. It is a great way for me to make friends and also just to get out of my apartment. Last semester I spent practically every single day cooped up in my apartment and now I have the house to come to every day. I’ve also made so many friends compared to what I had last semester.


I really recommend anyone who has thought of rushing to just do it. There is no harm in trying! I’ve truly found great people here and I am forever grateful I went through with it. It is evident how happy I’ve become and even my best friends from high school can tell.




Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page